Focus! Focus!

So, I haven’t mentioned out loud here yet that I’m participating in Blogging 101 here on WordPress.

The whole idea is to bring focus to my blog and to define what I want to do with it. I’ve been banging my head on the wall for about 24 hours now trying to figure out how to accurately convey what I want to do here. I’m still not sure I’ve got it, but I think the new title and tagline help. I am, after all, the mom here. It’s what I’ve done for the past 20 years, and it’s left little time for anything else. Now that one kid is in college and the other is half-way through high school, I find myself alone a lot of the time and feeling like I need to challenge myself. While I do appreciate clean bathrooms and a tidy kitchen, that’s just not enough to keep me from losing my mind.

Over the past week, I’ve put my head down and started taking some notes and doing some research on things that most catch my attention. I’ve been paying attention to the podcasts that suck me in — Radiolab, Stuff You Should Know, Freakonomics, to mention a few. I’ve been reading article after article on freelance writing, science writing in particular. I’ve been making sure that when an idea for a business venture pops into my head, I write it down. I’ve been making a list of skills that I need to develop to make myself more marketable.

It all seems overwhelming some days, but as I look back over my notes, things are starting to come into focus. I’ve stopped feeling like I’m wasting my time, and I’ve started feeling like I’m beginning to get a handle on where I’m headed.

My being here right now is part of getting focused. I’m pleased to say that simply trying to determine the focus of what I want to write about is paying off. I’m not there yet, but things are starting to take shape.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Focus! Focus!

  1. Robert Fiscus says:

    Good job! Keep on keeping on!!

  2. RieWriting says:

    Hi Julie. Perhaps you are over thinking it. I struggled with where I wanted to go with my blog, but eventually things started to work themselves out. I am sure you’ll find that too. Good luck x

  3. I like your new title “Not Just Mom” it reflects the stage you are in. You are going through a transition. It takes time looking in new directions.

Leave a Reply

