Unstuck

I was just loading some clothes into the washing machine — yes, laundry.  See?  I think I said before, when all else fails, there’s always laundry.  I wasn’t kidding.

As I was turning on the washer, it occurred to me:  I’m not stuck anymore!  Hallelujah!

I’m pretty sure I underestimated the negative effect my stress fracture had on me.  I was essentially being held down by the big, clumsy boot on my foot.  It’s been gone for a couple of weeks now, and I’m cleared to resume regular activities.  So, that’s what I’ve done.  I’ve been working hard for the past several days, and I’ve gotten back to my daily walks with the puppy and my regular exercise routine.  I am completely amazed at how much better I feel.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not surprised by this. I am, however, amazed at the degree to which this all impacted me.  I think it’s pretty cool that I’ve been given this opportunity to measure how important activity is for me.  I’m just going to chalk this up as one of life’s little lessons, one of God’s little blessings, and I’ll store it in the back of my mind and pull it out the next time I feel like being a slug.  Anyone reading this can feel free to remind me.  Just be nice about it, ok?

So, what I have to say is this: If you’re having trouble sleeping, or if you’re feeling blue, or maybe you just don’t feel like doing anything, get yourself OUT OF THE HOUSE and just take a walk.  If you have a dog, you will now be your dog’s hero.  If you have kids, they’ll think you’ve lost your mind, and maybe they’ll just go with you to see what happens, and then THEY will also be out of the house, and how awesome is that?!

Enjoy your walk!  I’ll see you when you get back.

This entry was posted in Family, Learning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

