“Energy” Bars by the Numbers

Lisa over at Snack Girl got me thinking today when she posted an article comparing Snickers to Clif Bars.

I started playing around with the numbers to see how they compared as a percentage of the whole.  The results weren’t too terribly surprising to me, but I was wondering if anyone else has obsessed thought about this like me.

I don’t eat snack/candy/energy bars very often.  If I do, it’s usually in a BIG pinch when I find myself starving while in a grocery store and wishing I hadn’t put lunch off for so long.  Usually, I can talk myself out of it because I’d much rather have a real meal.  I just don’t find a snack bar to be very  psychologically satisfying — probably because I’m usually not paying a great deal of attention to it while I’m eating.  Mindless snacking always gets me in trouble.

Anyway, I thought I’d share my comparisons.  I highlighted the “best” and “worst” numbers.  Tell me what you think!

Clif vs Snickers vs Newton’s Fruit Thins vs Larabars

Head-to-Head comparison of Clif Bars vs Larabars (since they’re the most similar)

This entry was posted in Food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Energy” Bars by the Numbers

  1. fefferknits says:

    Interesting that LaraBars are so high in fat…is it the nuts?? Anyway, I’m with you. Gimme some chicken instead. 🙂

    • Julie says:

      I thought that was interesting, too, Jen. I should also mention that this was for the Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip bar. I was trying to match what Lisa over @ Snack Girl used. 🙂

Leave a Reply

